Thursday, 19 July 2018

Latest News

Safety Alert - Epi

SAFETY ALERT- Epinephrine Labeling Changes- Removal of Ratios (no change in the drug product, just labeling)
This is a reminder of a change that was made in June of 2017 but is beginning to be seen in the field now.
Please remind your providers that this change has occurred. 

Read more: Safety Alert - Epi

Preparing for the unthinkable: Law enforcement, EMS team up for active shooter drill

Smithfield — The halls and church areas of Harvest Fellowship Baptist Church were filled with students and church members, Saturday 4/28/18 as they got ready for an active shooter training drill session.

ASE 2

Yet in a matter of moments, chaos broke out around 13:00 when the Isle of Wight Volunteer Rescue and area responders took part in an extensive active shooter drill.

 The drill simulated a shooter coming onto the premises and opening fire on the church in session, leaving mass destruction in his path.

Read more: Preparing for the unthinkable: Law enforcement, EMS team up for active shooter drill

James “Jim” Chandler

JChandler

it is with deep personal regret that the TEMS Staff inform you that James “Jim” Chandler passed away earlier today. His death was sudden and unexpected, and the TEMS Staff asks that you pray for the Chandler family and his friends. We, the TEMS Staff, ask you to be respectful of the family’s privacy during this difficult time.

If you have any questions, please call the office and ask for either David Long or David Coulling.

EMS Community Partners, Funeral arrangements for James “Jim” Chandler have been made and made available by his family.

The location will be Oman Funeral Home and Crematory, 653 Cedar Road, Chesapeake, VA 23322

Visitation will be Wednesday from 6-8, and the funeral will be Thursday at 11 AM at Oman Funeral Home in Chesapeake.

Read more: James “Jim” Chandler

VA-1 DMAT is Hiring!

Virginia-1 Disaster Medical Assistance Team is seeking Paramedics, Pharmacists, IT Specialists and Respiratory Therapists.     

The National Disaster Medical System is seeking Paramedics, Pharmacists, IT Specialists and Respiratory Therapists to hire as intermittent federal employees for the Virginia-1 Disaster Medical Assistance Team (VA-1 DMAT).

DMATs are staffed with medical professionals and para-professionals who can help area health systems respond by providing expert patient care. DMAT team members include advanced clinicians (nurse practitioners/physician assistants), medical officers and physicians, registered nurses, respiratory therapists, paramedics, pharmacists, safety specialists, logistical specialists, information technologists, communication and administrative specialists.

Read more: VA-1 DMAT is Hiring!

Upcoming Events

Education and Training Committee
Wed Jul 25 @ 9:00AM - 01:00PM
CISM Team Meeting
Mon Aug 06 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Aug 08 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
Office Closed - Labor Day
Mon Sep 03 @12:00AM
OMD Committee Meeting
Wed Sep 05 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
Cardiac Grand Rounds
Tue Sep 11 @ 7:00AM - 08:00AM
TEMS Quarterly Drug/IV Box Inventory
Wed Sep 19 @ 4:30PM - 04:31PM
Office Closed - Columbus Day
Mon Oct 08 @12:00AM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Oct 10 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
CISM Team Meeting
Mon Nov 05 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM

Upcoming Classes

Consolidated Testing @ EVMS 07/28/18
Sat Jul 28 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
NIMS ICS 400
Wed Aug 22 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS 400
Thu Aug 23 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Cardiac Grand Rounds
Tue Sep 11 @ 7:00AM - 08:00AM
National Registry EMT Course
Wed Sep 12 @ 6:00PM - 10:00PM
Consolidated Testing @ EVMS 09/29/2018
Sat Sep 29 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Tue Oct 23 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Wed Oct 24 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Mass Casualty Incident Management - Module I
Sat Oct 27 @ 9:00AM - 02:00PM
Virginia Symposium
Wed Nov 07 @12:00AM
Platinum Partner
www.nationalcprassociation.com